Thread: clutches for stunting?

Default clutches for stunting?

i'm rather new to stunting but not dirtbiking and i've been wondering what kinda clutch setup you guys are using on some of these supermoto stunt bikes? the one that really gets me is when you come to an almost complete stop while still up there put a foot on something and just take off again all smooth as silk. are you using heavy flywheel weights, like 13oz'ers? or rekluse anti-stall clutches? hydraulic clutches? or are you guys just super skilled with the left trigger finger?

I have an '03 crf450r and i've been thinking of turning it into a supermoto, besides the basics: wheels, oversize brakes, axle sliders, what do you guys recommend for stunting/streetmoto?

i currently am running 7oz flywheel weight, 13/50 gearing, highway knobbies, street legal setup(no blinkers, dont need em in NH),renthal twinwall bars w/moose handguards, shorty levers, steel shifter(put an aluminum one through the crankcase cover once, so i said eff that), fmf pipe, applied triple clamp, gripper seat, and msr clutch perch.

I want: rekluse z-start clutch, warp 9 17"s, fmf powerbomb, sliders, 320mm rotor, custom subframe w/12 bar and stunt pegs, led lights, 13oz. flywheel weight, wide ratio tranny gears. what gearing should i run w/ the 17's to still be street worthy(i gotta be able to hit 55 in comfort)

thanks everyone

I have the stock clutch and flyweel on my honda, but the 13/60 gearing makes the bike pop up from a dead stop no problem. My bike tops out at 70, tacked to the moon. you should probly run the gearing you have. the z start clutch doesn't work good for no handers and coaters becuase it disengages under a load. I recomend

DNA wheels 4.25x17 rear
    Braking 320 with relocator
    15oz flywheel( or keep rockin the 7oz and try a 55T rear)
    50 stunt axle slider
    50 stunt subframe
    50 stunt bar ends
    stock clutch